“A More Balanced Calendar”

One of the issues that will be coming before the school board in my first weeks on the board is a proposal to move to what Superintendent Richardson is calling “a more balanced” school calendar. It’s not “year-round school,” but it’s a proposal that would start the school year in mid-August; end before Memorial Day; allow for one-week breaks in the fall, winter, and spring; end the first semester before the winter break (so finals wouldn’t occur after the break); and provide more instructional days before high stakes standardized testing dates.

You can read about the proposal in the Northfield News, and watch Dr. Richardson’s presentation on Northfield Patch.

I’ve already been hearing a lot from people about this proposal, and I welcome any and all feedback. You can email me, or comment on this blog. If you comment here, I won’t respond in the comments. But I will read and consider carefully any comments that are made. I’m still listening, doing research, and gathering feedback, and have by no means made up my mind on this issue.

Leave a Reply

